South Petherton ......a market town with a village feel

South Petherton Parish Council

South Petherton is a village and civil parish on the River Parrett in the South Somerset district of Somerset, England. It is 5 miles (8 km) east of Ilminster and 5 miles (8 km) north west of Crewkerne. It had a population of 3,367 in 2011. The parish includes the hamlets of Yeabridge, Compton Durville, South Harp, and Over Stratton, and is approximately 2 miles (3 km) from East Lambrook, Martock and Lopen.

South Somerset District Council

The South Somerset District covers and area of 370 square miles (958 km2)[1] ranging from the borders with Devon, Wiltshire and Dorset to the edge of the Somerset Levels. It has a population of approximately 158,000.[2] The administrative centre of the district is Yeovil.

Somerset County Council

Established in 1889, is the county council of Somerset in the South West of England, an elected local government authority responsible for the most significant local government services in most of the county.

Somerset Waste Partnership

The local authority team managing waste and recycling services for Mendip, Sedgemoor, South Somerset and West Somerset District Councils, Taunton Deane Borough Council and Somerset County Council. We work for all six local authorities and report to Somerset Waste Board, which consists of two elected representatives from each of the six councils.

Emergency Numbers

Police, Fire Ambulance [Emergency]
999 or 112

Police, Fire Ambulance [Non-Emergency]

South West Water
0800 230 0561 (24 hr)

Western Power Distribution [Electricity]
0800 052 0400

For Power Cuts - Call 105

National Gas Helpline
0800 111 999

© 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021 Tony Bishton
If you have content or information that you would like to place on the South Petherton website please email